Random Rants

Anything that tickles my fancy.

Lifehacker: Japanese tricks to make life better.

Posted by silverstag on June 9, 2008

I found this really cool post on lifehaker. Its about a book written by a Japanese writer on tricks for everyday tasks. The coolest part about these tricks is, the author gives an explanation why a particular trick works. Even if you don’t want to buy the book, just take a look at the post. You might change your mind. And for those of you who decide to buy the book, here’s the link: Urawaza: Secret Everyday Tips and Tricks from Japan.

Here’s an excerpt from the book…

When it comes to life and getting things done, we like to do things a little differently in Japan. When I break a glass in the kitchen, I don’t use my vacuum cleaner to clean it up; I use a slice of bread. When my socks become dirt-stained from running in a muddy ravine, I don’t pour bleach on them; I stuff them with marbles. And to save space and money, I have never bought a document shredder. I just stuff incriminating documents in a stocking and toss them in the washing machine.

I hope you like the book. I’ll be buying it soon.

Leave a Reply

 
